top of page

Heartbreaks and Thank Yous

I have been procrastinating writing this blog.


Due to the corona virus, I made the very difficult decision to come back home to Canada. While this was technically my decision, I didn't feel as though I had much of a choice due to borders closing and other factors that played a part. It was a very heartbreaking decision but now I am home and it is good as well.


While I can easily dwell on the grief and disappointment that I have been feeling having left (and trust me, I could write a whole novel), I am choosing to dedicate my last blog to celebrating and thanking my Nicaragua.


I have rewritten this part so many times, unable to put into words my appreciation and love for this beautiful country and all it's given to me.


I had no idea my life would be so transformed by the people of Nicaragua. I had no idea I would have a new family. I had no idea I would be the one gaining, rather than giving. I had no idea how much others would reach out, and be hospitable to me. I had no idea how privileged I am before my time in Nicaragua. I had no idea how much more important it is to listen than speak. I had no idea how being uncomfortable and stretched could bring so much good. I had no idea how yummy a plate of gallo pinto, maduro frito, queso, aguacate and tortilla could be.


Thank you Nicaragua.


This journey has been wildly good. I am beginning to realize that, even when I didn't realize it whilst living it. Through it all, God has been my strength, my faithful Father, the Divine. There are no words to describe how thankful I am for His constant presence.


So here I am, writing my last blog from my time in Central America. I find it fitting to close with a bible verse that currently rests in my heart.


"On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate." Psalm 145:5








158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page